Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing recovered from his retirement on Saturday to win Sunday’s Detroit Grand Prix Race 2 and take his first win of 2019.

The Iceman finished the race just ahead of rookie Marcus Ericsson who drove a brilliant race to take his first NTT IndyCar Series podium with second place for Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

Will Power came from the back of the field to finish the race in third place in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda, Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda and Marco Andretti in the No.98 AutoNation US Concrete Honda came home in 4th, 5th and 6th place respectively.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Fifth Third Bank Honda came home in seventh just ahead of Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda.

Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda for Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing came home ninth while his team mate Santino Ferrucci in the No.19 Cly Del Honda rounded out the top ten after leading the race for a time.

Patricio O’Ward recovered from a lap down to finish in 11th place for Carlin just ahead of Colton Herta and Ed Jones.

Takuma Sato in the No.30 MiJack Panasonic Honda 14th just ahead of Max Chilton.

Felix Rosenqvist retired from the race while Simon Pagenaud was classified in 17th place. Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda retired from the race after losing power.

Josef Newgarden returned to the race after the incident with Hinchcliffe and Rossi but was 21 laps down.

Mathues Matt Leist, Spencer Pigot and Tony Kanaan retired from the race. Next up for the NTT IndyCar Series is Texas next weekend.

Share This