The NTT IndyCar Series has announced that for the first time since 2014 double points will not apply for the Indianapolis 500.

In a statement on Thursday night, IndyCar president Jay Frye said:

For 17 consecutive seasons, the NTT IndyCar Series championship has been decided in the final race of the season,”

“While double points at the Indianapolis 500 has not altered who won the season-long championship, occasionally it has had a negative effect on the final position of the full-time teams. As our entry list grows, this move will provide consistency for teams competing for championship positions while not diminishing the importance of ‘The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.’”

Share This