The Verizon IndyCar Series is back in action this weekend as the teams and drivers head to Iowa Speedway for the Iowa Corn Indy 300.

The race takes place over 300 laps and a 7/8 mile oval circuit which a total distance of 268.2 miles.

Firestone have made nine sets of tyres available per driver over the weekend. This weekend’s Iowa Corn 300 will be the tenth Verizon IndyCar race to be held at Iowa Speedway with Andretti Autosport holding the record for most wins at the event with seven out of nine.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda is the defending race winner. In the nine previous races here no driver who has claimed the Verizon P1 Award for this event has won the race.

Only two drivers who have won here have gone on to win the Verizon IndyCar Series title with Ryan Hunter Reay taking the series title in 2012 while Dario Franchitti won here in 2007 and 2009. Four drivers in the current field of drivers have competed in every race here, they are Marco Andretti, Tony Kanaan, Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon.

The Iowa Corn 300 sees the return of Ed Carpenter who is back in the car as Spencer Pigot drove the No.20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet at Road America last time out.

Iowa also marks the fourth of five oval races on the Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

Share This