Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda set the fastest time in warm up for today’s Big Machine Spiked Coolers Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. The Swede who took his second career win last weekend in Nashville set a time of 01:11.3705s and ended the session just ahead of Alexander Rossi in the No.27 AutoNation NAPA Auto Parts Honda who set a 01:11.3895s.

Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 XPEL Chevrolet was third fastest with a time of 01:11.4639s and ended the session just ahead of Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda who set a 01:11.4951s.

Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet who missed the Grand Prix here in May due to visa issues ended the session in fifth place with a time of 01:11.5760s ending the session just ahead of Takuma Sato 01:11.6697s while Graham Rahal was seventh just ahead of Conor Daly.

Defending series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing who starts today’s race from 26th place was ninth despite a number of spins with a time of 01:11.7051s.

Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing’s Romain Grosjean rounded out the top ten with a time 01:11.7573s. Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda ended the session in 11th place with a time of 01:11.9089s just ahead of championship leader Alex Palou.

Scott McLaughlin was 13th with a time of 01:12.0939s just ahead of Dalton Kellett who set a time of 01:12.0952s while Helio Castroneves was 15th for Meyer Shank Racing just ahead of Colton Herta who set a time of 01:12.1262s while Rinus VeeKay was 17th just ahead of Christian Lungaard.

Ed Jones was 19th with a time of 01:12.2053s while Simon Pagenaud who looks set to join Meyer Shank Racing next season rounded out the top 20 with a time of 01:12.2407s ending the session just ahead of Sebastien Bourdais in the No.14 ROKiT Chevrolet who spun set a time of 01:12.2719s.

Arrow McLaren SP’s Felix Rosenqvist and Pato O’Ward were 22nd and 23rd respectively just ahead of Will Power who set a time of 01:12.4183s.

Jimmie Johnson in the No.48 Carvana Honda was 25th with a time of 01:12.5416s just ahead of James Hinchcliffe and RC Enerson while Cody Ware rounded out the order.

Share This