This weekend history will be made at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway with the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil taking place on Sunday. So what do we know about the most famous motor race in the world?

The race takes place on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2.5 mile oval circuit over the course of 200 laps which adds up to the 500 mile race.

The 33 car field features six previous winners of the Indianapolis 500. Can you name them? Well we have the here:

Buddy Lazier – 1996

Helio Castroneves is aiming to become a four time winner having won in 2001, 2002 and 2009.

Castroneves’ Penske team mate Juan Pablo Montoya is hoping to join the club of three time winners and goes into the race as the defending race winner and also took victory here in the year 2000.

Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon took victory here in 2008 while Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay took the win in 2014. Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Chevrolet took victory in 2013,

Dale Coyne Racing’s Pippa Mann is the only female driver in the field for the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil and it is the 17th consecutive year that at least one female driver has competing in the race.

When it comes to victories at the Brickyard, Team Penske lead the way with 16 victories and  Roger ‘The Captain’ Penske who will drive the pace car on Sunday is hoping that he can mark 50 years in motorsports with one of his drivers winning the race. Chip Ganassi Racing have four wins at the Brickyard, Andretti Autosport have three wins while AJ Foyt Racing have won twice.

Pole sitter James Hinchcliffe is aiming to become 21st driver to win the race from pole position with the most recent pole sitter/race winner being Helio Castroneves who did it in 2009 for Penske.


Share This