The final jigsaw puzzle pieces for the 2021 NTT IndyCar Series driver line up’s are falling into place nicely following the announcement on Tuesday that James Hinchcliffe will return to full time IndyCar Series competition this season with Andretti Autosport.

The Mayor of HinchTown will drive the No.29 Honda this season and will carry Genesys as his primary sponsor for ten races this season including the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on May 30.

Dale Coyne and Jimmy Vasser will announce their driver line up on Wednesday. So here is what we know ahead of the season opening IndyCar Grand Prix at Barber Motorsports Park on April 18.

Team Penske will run four cars this year.

2 Josef Newgarden

3 Scott McLaughlin

12 Will Power

22 Simon Pagenaud

Chip Ganassi Racing will have five drivers this season with Jimmie Johnson competing in all road and street car events this season sharing his car with IndyCar veteran Tony Kanaan.

8 Marcus Ericsson

9 Scott Dixon

10 Alex Palou

48 Jimmy Johnson  – Road and Street courses / Tony Kanaan – Ovals

Andretti Autosport

26 Colton Herta

27 Alexander Rossi

28 Ryan Hunter Reay

29 James Hinchcliffe

98 Marco Andretti – Indy

Ed Carpenter Racing

20 Ed Carpenter – Ovals – Conor Daly – Road and Street course events

21 Rinus Veekay


59 Max Chilton Road and Street courses including the Indianapolis 500. and TBC

AJ Foyt Racing

4 Dalton Kellett

14 Sebastien Bourdais

Arrow McLaren SP

5 Pato O’Ward

7 Felix Rosenqvist

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

15 Graham Rahal

30 Takuma Sato

Meyer Shank Racing

60 Jack Harvey

Helio Castoneves, selected races including the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500

Dale Coyne Racing

To be confirmed on Wednesday.


Drivers confirmed for the Indianapolis 500 include Juan Pablo Montoya who will join Arrow McLaren SP alongside Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist while Simona De Silvestro will compete for Paretta Autosport.

Share This