The NTT IndyCar Series heads to WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca this weekend for the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey with five drivers still mathematically in with a chance to win the championship.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Alex Palou, Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward, Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden, Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Ericsson and defending champion Scott Dixon are all in the title fight.

So, let’s have a look at the challengers. Of the five drivers, Scott Dixon and Josef Newgarden have been in this position before with eight championships between them.

Alex Palou in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda has scored three wins so far this season including last time out in Portland.

Josef Newgarden, Pato O’Ward and Marcus Ericsson have two wins apiece while Scott Dixon who is in fourth in the championship has a single win from Texas earlier in the year.

The Iceman is 49 points back from Alex Palou and admitted following Sunday’s race where he finished third that if he needs to help Alex Palou to win the championship he will play the team game if it ensures the championship remains at Ganassi but he is still in with a chance to win the championship so he is going all out.

There are a total of 108 points available from the final two races of the season which will make the events extremely interesting and exciting.

Share This