The 2019 NTT IndyCar Series championship will be decided in exactly one week with the double points season ending Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

Four drivers from three different teams are fighting for the coveted Astor Cup.

Defending series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing has been in this position countless times before but the five time champion will have his work cut out for him if he is it come back and win his sixth championship.

Championship leader Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hitachi Chevrolet for Team Penske is 41 points ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi.

Newgarden is looking to win his second series championship having won in his first year with Team Penske in 2017.

Indianapolis 500 champion Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet for Team Penske is 42 points behind his team mate and has also been in this position before having won the championship in 2016.

Alexander Rossi is in second place in the championship 41 points behind championship leader Josef Newgarden.

When looking at how each of the four drivers seasons have played out Josef Newgarden has four wins, Alexander Rossi and Scott Dixon have two wins apiece while Simon Pagenaud has three wins including the Indianapolis 500. The Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey at WeatherTech Raceway is live on NBC Sport in the US and Sky Sports F1HD in the UK.


Share This