Chip Ganassi Racing head into this weekend’s 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil at Indianapolis Motor Speedway following what has been by their high standards a tough month of May.

The team endured a tough qualifying last weekend which saw none of their four drivers make it into the Firestone Fast nine.

Reigning series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 Target Chevrolet will be hoping to add to his Borg Warner on Sunday having previously won the Indy 500 with Chip Ganassi Racing in 2008.

The New Zealander who will start the race from 13th place on the grid was forced to take an engine change prior to the second round of qualifying on Sunday when the team discovered an issue with his Chevrolet power unit and changed the engine in record breaking time.

Charlie Kimball in the No.42 Tresiba® Chevrolet will be aiming to climb two places from where he finished last season’s race when he completed the podium in third place behind the Team Penske duo of race winner Juan Pablo Montoya and Will Power in second place. Kimball starts Sunday’s race, his sixth Indy 500 in 16th place just ahead of defending race winner Juan Pablo Montoya and Tony Kanaan.

Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Chevrolet who won the Indianapolis 500 in 2013 with KV Racing Technologies starts this years race from 18th place just ahead of KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais.

Verizon IndyCar Series rookie Max Chilton in the No.8 Gallagher Chevrolet will start his first Indianapolis 500 race from 22nd place just ahead of Sage Karam and Conor Daly.

Share This