Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team’s Lewis Hamilton took pole position today for Sunday’s season opening Australian Grand Prix at the Albert Park circuit in Melbourne.

Hamilton set a fastest time of 01:22.188s and is joined on the front row by Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel with Valtteri Bottas starting his forst race for Mercedes from third place.

Kimi Raikkonen in the second Ferrari did a fantastic job as he will start the race from fourth place just ahead of Red Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen.

It was a fantastic session for the Haas F1 Team’s Romain Grosjean as the Frenchman will start Sunday’s race from sixth place after setting a fastest time of 01:24.074s.

Williams Martini Racing’s Felipe Massa will start the race from seventh place just ahead of Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz and Daniil Kvyat.

Hometown hero Daniel Ricciardo rounded out the top ten after losing the rear of his car and hitting the wall hard. He walked away unhurt.

Sergio Perez will start the race from 11th for Force India who starts the race just ahead of his former Force India team mate Nico Hulkenberg.

McLaren Honda’s Fernando Alonso did a good job for the Woking based outfit as the Spaniard will start the race from 13th place.

Esteban Ocon starts his race for Force India from 14th place just ahead of Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson. Antonio Giovinazzi did a fantastic job in the second Sauber, subbing for Pascal Wehrlein as he will start the race from 16th place.

The Haas F1 Team’s Kevin Magnusson starts the race from 17th place just ahead of McLaren Honda’s Stoffel Vandoorne.

Jolyon Palmer will start the race from 19th place for the Renault Sport F1 Team despite being classified in 20th place as Williams Martini Racing’s Lance Stroll will start from the back following a gearbox penalty.

Share This