Reigning world champion Lewis Hamilton will start tomorrow’s Malaysian Grand Prix from pole position after setting a qualifying time of 01:32.850s.

Nico Rosberg, who leads the championship by eight points going into the race on Sunday will start alongside Hamilton in second place with Red Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo.

Ferrari endured a tough session with Sebastian Vettel starting the race from the third row with his team mate Kimi Raikkonen starting the race from sixth place.

Sergio ‘Checo’ Perez will start the race from seventh place just ahead of his Sahara Force India team mate Nico Hulkenberg. It was a fantastic session for McLaren Honda’s Jenson Button who will start his 300th Grand Prix from ninth place on the grid. Williams Martini Racing’s Felipe Massa rounds out the top ten having set a fastest time of 01:34.671s.

Starting just outside the top ten is Valtteri Bottas for Williams who qualified in 11th place just ahead of the Haas F1 Team’s Romain Grosjean and Esteban Gutierrez.

Kevin Magnussen is the highest placed Renault driver starting the race from 14th place just ahead of the Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat and Carlos Sainz.

Marcus Ericsson starts the race from 17th place for the Sauber F1 Team just ahead of Felipe Nasr and Renault’s Joylon Palmer.

Esteban Ocon starts the race from 20th place just ahead of team mate Pascal Werhlein. Fernando Alonso rounds out the grid for McLaren Honda.

Share This