Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team’s Lewis Hamilton will start tomorrow’s Australian Grand Prix from pole position as the new knock out qualifying session got a resounding thumbs down from fans.

Hamilton led a Silver Arrows 1-2 with team mate Nico Rosberg starting the race from second place with Scuderia Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen locking out the second row for the Prancing Horse. Max Verstappen was the surprise of qualifying as he will start the race in a Toro Rosso with last year’s Ferrari power unit in 5th place just ahead of the Williams Martini Racing car of Felipe Massa.

Carlos Sainz will start the race from seventh place just ahead of home favourite Daniel Ricciardo while the Sahara Force India Formula One Team duo of Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg round out the top ten.

Just outside the top ten in 11th place is Valtteri Bottas in the second Williams while Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button gave Ron Dennis and McLaren Honda something to smile about as they will start the race from 12th and 13th place respectively.

Renault Sport F1 Team’s Jolyon Palmer making his Formula One race debut did a fantastic job for the Enstone outfit as he out-qualified his team mate Kevin Magnussen as they will start the Australian Grand Prix from 14th and 15th place. The Sauber duo of Marcus Ericsson and Felipe Nasr will start the event from 16th and 17th place respectively.

It was a disappointing debut qualifying for the Haas F1 Team as Romain Grosjean starts the race from 19th place with team mate Esteban Gutierrez in 20th place.

The Manor Racing team duo of Pascal Wehrlein and Rio Haryanto round out the grid in 21st and 22nd place however Haryanto has a three place grid penalty for causing the collision in the pit-lane with Romain Grosjean in the final practice session this morning.

Share This