Reigning world champion Lewis Hamilton will start Sunday’s Brazilian Grand Prix at the Interlagos circuit from pole position having set a fastest time of 01:10.736s starting the race just ahead of team mate and championship leader Nico Rosberg.

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen was a surprise third with the Finn setting a time of 01:11.404s starting the Grand Prix just ahead of Max Verstappen who is just one point behind the Iceman. Sebastian Vettel in the second Ferrari will start the race from fifth place with a qualifying time of 01:11.495s.

Daniel Ricciardo starts the race from sixth place. The real surprise of qualifying was the Haas F1 Team’s Romain Grosjean who starts the race from seventh place on the grid just ahead of the Force India pairing of Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez while McLaren Honda’s Fernando Alonso rounds out the top ten.

It was a disappointing day for the Williams Martini Racing Team as Valtteri Bottas starts the race just outside the top ten in 11th place however the Finn has a choice of tires to start the race on.

Esteban Gutierrez starts the race from 12th place in the second Haas car while Felipe Massa was left disappointed with his qualifying run as he starts his final home race from 13th place just ahead of the Toro Rosso pairing of Daniil Kvyat and Carlos Sainz. The Renault Sport F1 Team’s Jolyon Palmer starts the race from 16th place.

McLaren Honda’s Jenson Button had a tough session and will start the Brazilian Grand Prix from 17th place on the grid just ahead his former team mate Kevin Magnussen in the Renault.

Pascal Wehrlein starts the race from 19th place just ahead of his team mate Esteban Ocon with Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson and Felipe Nasr rounding out the order in 21st and 22nd place respectively.


Share This