Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team’s Lewis Hamilton will start the defense of his title from pole position after setting a blistering lap time during qualifying for Sunday’s season opening Australian Grand Prix.

The four time world champion set a pole position time of 01:21.164s and will start the race just ahead of Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen with the Iceman out-qualifying his team mate Sebastien Vettel with a time of 01:21.828s. Vettel set a time of 01:21.838s. Aston Martin Red Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen will start the race from fifth place.

Daniel Ricciardo qualified in 5th place for his home race but will start the event from eight having been given a three place grid penalty.

It was a great session for the Haas F1 Team as Kevin Magnussen will start the race from 5th place just ahead of his team mate Romain Grosjean with the outfit proving that they could be a serious contenders for big points this weekend.

Nico Hulkenberg starts the race from 7th place just ahead of Ricciardo while Carlos Sainz will start the race from ninth place for the Renault Sport F1 Team.

Valtteri Bottas rounded out the top ten for the Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team despite crashing heavily in Q3 bringing out the red flag. McLaren Renault’s Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne ended the session in 11th and 12th place respectively.

Sahara Force India’s Sergio Perez starts the race from 13th place having set a fastest time of 01:24.005s.

Williams Martini Racing’s Lance Stroll will start the race from 14th place having set a fastest time of 01:24.230s, the Canadian ended the session just ahead of Toro Rosso’s Brendon Hartley. Marcus Ericsson starts the race from 16th place for the Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team.

Charles Leclerc will start the race from 17th for the Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team. Sergey Sirotkin will start his first Grand Prix for the Williams Martini Racing team from 19th place while Pierre Gasly rounds out the grid order in 20th place respectively.

Share This