Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team’s Lewis Hamilton secured his sixth consecutive pole position as he claimed his second pole of the season at the Shanghai International Circuit on Saturday. Hamilton set a time of 01:31.678s ending the session just ahead of Ferrari’s Sebastien Vettel.

Valtteri Bottas starts the race in the second Mercedes from third place just ahead of his fellow Finn Kimi Raikkonen in second Ferrari.

Daniel Ricciardo will start the race from fifth place for Red Bull Racing ending the day just ahead of Williams Martini Racing’s Felipe Massa as the Grove based outfit got both of their cars into the top ten shootout for the first time this season.

The Renault Sport F1 Team’s Nico Hulkenberg will start the race from seventh place following a strong session for the Enstone outfit. The German starts the race just ahead of his former Force India team mate Sergio Perez who starts the race just ahead of Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat.

Williams Martini Racing’s Lance Stroll rounds out the top ten. Carlos Sainz in the second Toro Rosso will start the race just outside the top ten in 11th place just ahead of the Haas F1 Team’s Kevin Magnussen.

Fernando Alonso starts the race from 13th place for McLaren Honda while Marcus Ericsson starts the race from 14th place. Sauber managed to get their cars into the second session however Antonio Giovinazzi had a big accident on the main straight right at the end of the session but he was ok.

Stoffel Vandoorne starts the race in 16th place for McLaren while Romain Grosjean and Jolyon Palmer are provisionally in 17th and 18th place respectively as they have been called to the stewards for not slowing down at the scene of Giovinazzi’s accident.

Max Verstappen lost two cylinders in his TAG-Heuer engine and will start the race from 19th place. Force India’s Esteban Ocon rounds out the grid in 20th place.

Share This