Mercedes Lewis Hamilton has taken his second victory in a week closing the gap in the championship to 19 points over team Nico Rosberg who finished the race in second place.

Following a controversial end to the race which saw Max Verstappen and Sebastian Vettel collide, Verstappen was handed a five second penalty following the race and as a result was demoted promoting Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel.

Hamilton’s victory was his 30th from pole position. Daniel Ricciardo finished in fourth place with Max Verstappen in fifth place following his five second penalty.

Kimi Raikkonen finished the race where he started in sixth place just ahead of Nico Hulkenberg the pair collided during the overtake but no action was taken by the stewards. Valtteri Bottas finished the race in eighth place for Williams just ahead of Felipe Massa.

Sergio Perez rounded out his Mexican Grand Prix weekend at home by rounding out the top ten.

It was a disappointing race for Marcus Ericsson who ended the race just outside the top ten in eleventh place missing out on the Swiss based outfit’s first world championship points of the season.

McLaren Honda’s Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso ended the race in 12th and 13th place respectively.

Jolyon Palmer finished the race in 14th place for the Renault Sport F1 Team ending the race just ahead of Felipe Nasr in the Sauber. Carlos Sainz finished the race in 16th place just ahead of Kevin Magnussen.

Daniil Kvyat finished the race in 18th place just ahead of the Haas F1 Team’s Esteban Gutierrez and Romain Grosjean while Esteban Ocon rounded out the order in 21st place.

There was a safety car period on lap two as a result of a first corner incident involving Esteban Gutierrez and Pascal Werhlein who retired from the race.

Share This