The NTT INDYCAR SERIES is back in action today for the Top 12 qualifying for next weekend’s 107th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon, driver of the No.9 PNC Bank Honda, could make history later today by becoming the first driver in Indianapolis 500 history to claim three consecutive pole positions for the Greatest Spectacle In Racing. The Iceman claimed the pole here back in 2021 and again last season.

We could also have a situation where a team locks out the front row with Arrow McLaren and Chip Ganassi Racing having all of their drivers inside the Firestone Fast 12.

Arrow McLaren had Felix Rosenqvist and Alexander, 1-2 in qualifying on Saturday, while Tony Kanaan and Pato O’Ward also made it into the Fast 12. Speaking following the action, Rosenqvist commented saying:

“Super proud of the whole team for executing. “That last run we did was just phenomenal. Almost in a 234 average. That was pretty mind-blowing how we found so much speed. We weren’t super happy on our first run, so we had two or three reasons to think we were going to go quicker. We kind of put them all together. Wow, what a run.

“Yeah, just a fun time to be in Arrow McLaren right now. Everything kind of resets for tomorrow, but we’re definitely feeling good right now.”

Chip Ganassi Racing also has all four drivers in the top 12 with Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda aiming for his third pole in a row. Alex Palou in the No.10 The American Legion Honda, defending Indianapolis 500 winner Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Iced Spritz Honda and Takuma Sato in the No.11 Deloitte Honda.

AJ Foyt Racing has both Santino Ferrucci and Benjamin Pedersen in the Fast 12 while Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet is the only representative from Roger Penske’s team in the fast 12 and doesn’t think he will make it to the P1 award.

Ed Carpenter Racing has Rinus VeeKay in the No.21 BitNile Chevrolet is also into the Fast 12.


Share This