Qualifying for the 108th running of the Indianapolis 500, presented by Gainbridge, continues at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday. The Fast 12 and Fast Six will take place today, and Paddock Eye decided to examine the drivers who make up the Fast 12.

History will be made today as none of the Fast 12 have ever been on the pole for the Greatest Spectacle In Racing. The Fast 12 has four previous Indianapolis 500 winners: Josef Newgarden, Will Power, Takuma Sato, and Ryan Hunter-Reay. Will Power has scored more than any other driver in NTT INDYCAR SERIES history with 64 pole positions.

Team Penske has been extremely quick over the course of the month and finished 1,2,3 in the session on Saturday, so they are going to be fast, given the extremely hot temperatures here at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist has had a great start to his NTT INDYCAR SERIES season in 2024, and here at the Speedway, there has been no exception.

Dreyer and Reinbold Racing, with Cusick Motorsports, got Ryan Hunter-Reay into the Fast 12, while Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay also made it into the Fast 12.

Arrow McLaren has three drivers in the top 12: Alexander Rossi, Kyle Larson, and Pato O’Ward. Larson’s result was great, given that he has never competed in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, let alone the Greatest Spectacle In Racing.

Andretti Global’s Kyle Kirkwood and AJ Foyt Racing’s Santino Ferruci are also in the Fast 12. It is going to be an incredible afternoon of track action.



Share This