Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Jay Howard in the No.77 Honda ended day four of practice for the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil lead a Honda powered 1,2,3,4 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Thursday.

Howard completed 86 laps and finished the day ahead of a trio of Andretti Autosport cars, Marco Andretti in the No.27 United Fiber and Data Honda, Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda and Fernando Alonso in the No.29 McLaren Honda Andretti who completed 96 laps in the No.29 Honda.

Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hum by Verizon Chevrolet for Team Penske was forced to end his day early after hitting the wall at Turn 1 twice, following a trip to the in field care center he was cleared to return to the track however was unable to get back out on track due to the damage on the car, the Tennessee native ended the day as the fastest Chevrolet in fifth place.

Sage Karam in the No.24 Mecum Chevrolet ended the day in 6th place for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing entry.

Charlie Kimball was the fastest Chip Ganassi Racing entry in the No.83 Tresiba® Honda ending the day in seventh place just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Oriol Servia in the No.16 Honda.

Takuma Sato in the No.26 Honda ended the day in ninth place while Dale Coyne Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Sonny’s BBQ Honda rounded out the top ten despite an engine failure.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Mikhail Aleshin ended the day in 11th place in the No.7 Honda.

Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet ended the day in 12th place just ahead of defending Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi in the No.98 NAPA Auto Parts Honda for Andretti Herta Autosport who completed 72 laps.

Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.22 Fitzgerald Glider Kits Chevrolet ended the day in 14th place just ahead of team mate Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Shell Reward Cards Chevrolet. Scott Dixon in the No.9 NTT DATA Honda was 16th for Chip Ganassi Racing just ahead of Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’Shake Honda.

Ed Jones was 18th for Dale Coyne Racing just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Carlos Munoz in the No.14 ABC Supply Co Chevrolet while Ed Carpenter was 20th in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet. Max Chilton was 21st for Chip Ganassi Racing. JR Hildebrand ended the day in 22nd place in the No.21 Preferred Freezer Service Chevrolet.

Reigning series champion and current points leader Simon Pagenaud who celebrated his 33rd Birthday today ended the day in 23rd place in the No.1 Menards Chevrolet.

Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing was 24th fastest just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Pippa Mann in the No.63 Honda. Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Honda was 26th fastest just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Conor Daly in the No.4 ABC Supply Co Chevrolet.

Zach Veach in the No.40 Indy Women in Tech Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing ended the day in 28th place just ahead of Jack Harvey in the No.50 Michael Shank with Andretti Autosport Honda.

Harding Racing’s Gabby Chaves ended the day in 30th place in the No.88 Chevrolet just ahead of the Juncos Racing drivers Spencer Pigot in the No.11 Chevrolet and Sebastian Saavedra in the No.17 Chevrolet.

Buddy Lazier rounded out the order in 33rd place having made his first appear at Indianapolis Motor Speedway for 2017 today.

Share This