Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda took his first Verizon P1 Award of the season having set the fastest time of 01:17.6277s for the Grand Prix of Sonoma. Hunter Reay said the Firestone reds were awesome.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda will roll off second. Dixi said the car has been strong all weekend and locked up going into turn 9. He has been happy all weekend and he believes it was frustrating but happy to do a good session.

Defending series champion Josef Newgarden will start the race from third place in the No.1 Verizon Chevrolet for Team Penske while Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda starts the race from fourth place. Harding Racing’s Patricio O’Ward was the star of the session as the Mexican will start his first Verizon IndyCar Series race from fifth place.

Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda for Andretti Autosport rounded out the Firestone Fast Six.

Team Penske team mate’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet and Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 DXC Technology Chevrolet starts the race from eighth place just ahead of ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Total Honda.

Andretti Autosport’s Zach Veach in the No.26 Group 1001 Honda rounds out the top ten just ahead of Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda. Takuma Sato starts the race from 12th place.

Pietro Fittipaldi in the No.19 Paysafe Honda starts the race from 13th place for Dale Coyne Racing just ahead of Ed Jones in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda starts the race from 15th place just ahead of his team mate Jack Harvey.

Ed Carpenter Racing Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet starts the race from 17th place just ahead of Tony Kanaan who starts his 300th consecutive Verizon IndyCar Series start from 18th place in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing.

Harding Racing’s Colton Herta starts the race from 19th place just ahead of Santino Ferrucci in the No.39 Cly Del Honda for Dale Coyne Racing.

Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton starts the race from 21st place just ahead of Carlos Munoz in the No.6 Lucas Oil Honda for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports. Matheus Matt Leist in the No.4 ABC Supply Chevrolet starts the race from 23rd place just ahead of Charlie Kimball’s No.23 Tresiba Chevrolet while Jordan King rounds out the grid in 25th place for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Share This