The NTT IndyCar Series newest race winner Rinus Veekay says he is keen to sweep the month of May having claimed his first career victory on Saturday at the GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Speaking ahead of practice this week at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval, the Dutch driver said:

I’m very keen to try to sweep the month of May. That’s of course my goal. “The mentality and everyone’s confidence is super high at the team, so I think we can definitely go for that win. We’ve had an awesome car last year, and Ed Carpenter Racing has showed the last few years that they have the car to win the ‘500’. I feel super confident.

“First race win takes a lot of pressure off. Now I can just drive the ‘500’, and now it’s just going to be focusing on the best possible result. I want to thank Ed Carpenter Racing for everything they’ve done for me so far, and Chevy for the great engines. Indy 500 coming up, lots of power, lots of speed. I’m sure we’ll be good.”

JR Hildebrand, No. 1 ABC Supply/AJ Foyt Racing
Josef Newgarden, No. 2 Shell Fuel Rewards Team Penske
Scott McLaughlin, No. 3 Pennzoil Team Penske
Dalton Kellett, No. 4 K-Line Insulators/AJ Foyt Racing
Pato O’Ward, No. 5 Arrow McLaren SP
Felix Rosenqvist, No. 7 Vuse Arrow McLaren SP
Charlie Kimball, No. 11 Tresiba/AJ Foyt Racing
Will Power, No. 12 Verizon 5G Team Penske
Sebastien Bourdais, No. 14 ROKiT/AJ Foyt Racing
Simona De Silvestro, No. 16 Rocket Pro/Paretta Autosport
Ed Carpenter, No. 20 SONAX Ed Carpenter Racing
Rinus VeeKay, No. 21 Bitcoin Ed Carpenter Racing
Simon Pagenaud, No. 22 Menards Team Penske
Sage Karam, No. 24 DRR-AES Indiana Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
Conor Daly, No. 47 U.S. Air Force Ed Carpenter Racing
Max Chilton, No. 59 Gallagher Carlin
RC Enerson, No. 75 Top Gun Racing
Juan Pablo Montoya, No. 86 Arrow McLaren SP
Share This