Arrow McLaren’s Callum Ilott, in the No.6 NTT DATA Chevrolet, was the fastest driver in the opening practice session on Saturday at The Thermal Club. Ilott set a time of 01:38.7784s, ending the morning just ahead of defending series champion Alex Palou, who has been fastest in the opening two practice sessions.

There was a lengthened red flag early in Saturday morning’s session as the AMR Safety team carried out repairs on the track. Christian Lundgaard for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing was once again very quick, ending the session in third place just ahead of Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 XPEL Chevrolet. Arrow McLaren’s Pato O’Ward was fifth fastest, just ahead of Marcus Armstrong.

It was another solid session for Romain Grosjean, who was sixth for Juncos Hollinger Racing, just ahead of Colton Herta and Felix Rosenqvist, while the Swede’s teammate Tom Blomqvist rounded out the top ten for Meyer Shank Racing.

Just outside the top ten was Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Business Chevrolet who ended the session just ahead of six-time series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda.

Pietro Fittipaldi was 13th for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing just ahead of Alexander Rossi of Arrow McLaren while Marcus Ericsson was 15th just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Linus Lindqvist and Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay. Kyle Kirkwood was 18th despite going off track while Agustin Canapino was 19th and Graham Rahal rounded out the top twenty for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Santino Ferrucci was 21st in the No.14 Sexton Properties AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet just ahead of Josef Newgarden of Team Penske and Christian Rasmussen.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Kyffin Simpson was 24th just ahead of Colin Braun and Nolan Siegel while AJ Foyt Racing’s Sting Ray Robb rounded out the order in 27th.

Share This