The 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge is less than a month away and with practice due to get underway in just over two weeks time there are still questions that need to be answered about the entries for The Greatest Spectacle In Racing.

What we know so far:

Team Penske will field four cars this year with three time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves returning to attempt to win his fourth 500, the Brazilian joins defending 500 winner Simon Pagenaud, Josef Newgarden and Will Power.

Chip Ganassi Racing have series points leader Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda, Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda and Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda.

Dale Coyne Racing traditionally have three cars for the 500, however at the moment the team just have two cars locked in with Alex Palou and Santino Ferrucci in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda for Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing.

Arrow McLaren SP who like Chip Ganassi Racing have had a strong start to their season, their first in the NTT IndyCar Series with Pato O’Ward finishing Road America race 2 in second place having taken pole.

In Iowa race one, Oliver Askew in the No.7 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet scored his first career podium with a third place while Pato O’Ward came home in fourth.

Fernando Alonso will join the team for the Indy 500, driving the No.66 Ruoff Chevrolet.

Andretti Autosport will field six cars with James Hinchcliffe joins the team driving the No.29 Genesys Honda alongside Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda, Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda, Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda, Colton Herta in the No.88 Capestone Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport Honda and Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda.

Meyer Shank Racing will have Jack Harvey in the No.60 Automation Sirius XM Honda.

AJ Foyt Racing will field three cars with Tony Kanaan in the No.14 Chevrolet, Charlie Kimball in the No.4 Tresiba Chevrolet and Dalton Kellett. Sebastian Bourdais signed for a partial schedule with AJ Foyt Racing but Paddock Eye understands he could be loaned out to another team for the 500.

One possible destination for Bourdais could be Carlin who at this point in time just have one car in the field for Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing will have Graham Rahal and 2017 Indy 500 winner Takuma Sato while the team have entered into a partnership with Citrone Buhl Autosport to field Spencer Pigot in the No.45 Embrace Pittsburgh Honda.

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing will run one car at the moment with Sage Karam in the No.24 Wix Filters Chevrolet.

Juncos Racing owner Ricardo Juncos has confirmed that his team are working on getting their Dallara chassis ready and are in talks with Kyle Kaiser for a drive.

Ed Carpenter Racing will field three cars with Ed Carpenter, Rinus Veekay and Conor Daly all in the field.

It is unclear what DragonSpeed will do, however Paddock Eye understands the team are hoping to run Ben Hanley.

The picture will become clearer next week ahead of the opening day of practice at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway which gets underway on Tuesday 11 August.

Share This