Two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Josef Newgarden of Team Penske will receive $4.288 million from a record-breaking prize purse of $18,456,000. Second-placed finisher Pato O’Ward of Arrow McLaren gets $1,050,500. This year’s average NTT INDYCAR SERIES driver payout is $543,000.

NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Larson earned Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year honors for his performance during the Month of May. Larson, driving for Arrow McLaren/Rick Hendrick, made his first attempt to complete “The Double,” by racing both the 108th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge and the NASCAR Cup Series Coca-Cola 600. Larson earned a $50,000 bonus for being named Rookie of the Year, adding to a total take-home prize of $178,000.

Newgarden’s winnings also include a bonus of $440,000 for becoming the first driver since Helio Castroneves in 2002 to claim back-to-back Indianapolis 500 wins.

Speaking about the prize money for this year’s 108th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge, President and CEO of Penske Entertainment Corporation, the owners of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and NTT INDYCAR SERIES, Mark Miles commented:

“The Indianapolis 500 is the greatest race in the world, and this record-breaking purse is reflective of just how monumental competing in and winning at Indy is for these drivers. “Despite weather challenges, the Month of May featured packed grandstands and intense on-track action. Presenting this purse is the ideal end cap to an epic month.”



Share This