The 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge is exactly three weeks away. Get ready for the most famous words in motorsport. ‘Drivers, Start Your Engines!’

This year, there will be fans at the race after the event last year was held behind closed doors last August due to the COVID 19 pandemic.

Thanks to Indiana health officials and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, COVID-19 vaccinations have been taking place at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway since April 1 and this will continue through the month of May.

The 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge is going to be a special event as it is every year but particularly in 2021 as it will be the first major sporting event in the U.S to host fans since 2019.

There are at 35 drivers vying for 33 places on the grid this season with Team Penske and Chip Ganassi Racing fielding four cars each with Scott McLaughlin making his Indianapolis 500 debut this season.

Stefan Wilson returns to the Indianapolis 500 after it was confirmed earlier this week that he will race for Andretti Autosport who will have six cars in the field with Ryan Hunter-Reay, Alexander Rossi, Marco Andretti, Colton Herta and James Hinchcliffe joined by Wilson.

Chip Ganassi Racing will have Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Marcus Ericsson and Alex Palou in the field.

AJ Foyt Racing also have four cars for the 500 with Dalton Kellett and Sebastien Bourdais joined by Charlie Kimball and JR Hildebrand.

Meyer Shank Racing has expanded to a two-car operation with Jack Harvey joined by three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves.

Arrow McLaren SP are running three cars this year with two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya joining XPEL 375 race winner Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist for the month of May.

Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton will be in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet for the Indianapolis 500 while Comor Daly will drive the No.47 U.S Air Force Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing alongside team owner Ed Carpenter in the No.20 U.S Space Force Chevrolet. Rinus VeeKay will be in the No.21 Sonax Autogeek Chevrolet.

Sage Karam is back in the No.24 Salesforce Dreyer and Reinbold Racing Chevrolet while Simona De Silvestro will be in the No.16 ROCKET Chevrolet for Team Penske-backed Paretta Autosport.

The 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge takes place on Sunday 30th May. For further information visit –

Share This