The Verizon IndyCar Series announced on Friday that they have agreed multi-year contract extensions with engine suppliers Chevrolet and Honda.

Speaking about the contract extensions, Verizon IndyCar Series President of Competition and Operations Jay Fyre commented by saying:

This is a unique moment in the recent history of the Verizon IndyCar Series. “To have all of our major manufacturers locked in with us for the foreseeable future points to the fact that they all have bought into the vision for the Verizon IndyCar Series. It’s another sign of the positive momentum we continue to build as we grow this sport into the next decade.

The contract extensions offer continuity for the Verizon IndyCar Series who recently announced contract extensions with chassis manufacturer Dallara and tire supplier Firestone.

Frye went on to say:

We have worked hard to harness the power of the paddock so we are all pulling together, and this is evidence of that. “The fact both Honda and Chevrolet are encouraging INDYCAR to attract additional OEMs to compete is a sure sign that we are on the same page.

Team Penske, AJ Foyt Racing and Ed Carpenter Racing are powered by Chevrolet while Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, Andretti Autosport, Dale Coyne Racing, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing and Chip Ganassi Racing are powered by Honda.

Share This