The Verizon IndyCar Series has had an incredible 2017 season. In the 17 races this season there were 10 different race winners from four teams.

Sebastien Bourdais, James Hinchcliffe, Josef Newgarden, Will Power, Helio Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud, Alexander Rossi, Takuma Sato, Alexander Rossi and Scott Dixon all won races during the season.

The series made a triumphant return to Gateway Motorsports Park with the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 presented by Valvoline which was won by Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden who went on to win the Verizon IndyCar Series champion becoming the firs American since Ryan Hunter Reay in 2012 to win the title.

The series also saw Harding Racing join the grid for the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil in May with Gabby Chaves driving the No.88 Chevrolet.

The Colombian was extremely impressive and finished the race in ninth place while at Texas Motor Speedway he finished the race in fifth place. In Pocono, Chaves finished the race in 15th place. The team are set to join the series full-time in 2018.

It was also a fantastic Indianapolis 500 as double Formula One world champion Fernando Alonso joined the grid for the race and qualified in fifth place and nearly won the race before he was forced to retire from the just 20 laps from the end of the race.

It was a fantastic season for Josef Newgarden who joined Team Penske at the end of last season from Ed Carpenter Racing and took four wins, one Verizon P1 Award along with nine podium finishes including his four victories.

The series is also looking into expanding for 2018 with an event in Mexico under consideration.

Esteban Gutierrez who joined Dale Coyne Racing to replace the injured Sebastien Bourdais did a fantastic job in the No.18 Honda and the prospect of the Mexican returning to the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2018 is fantastic.

The future of the Verizon IndyCar Series is extremely bright.


Share This