The NTT IndyCar Series is in great shape as it prepares to enter the 2021 season.

The series managed to run a season in 2020 despite COVID-19 and reported no cases of the virus during the season.

Roger Penske took over the series and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway last year but managed extremely well thanks to his support.

The 2021 NTT IndyCar Series season gets underway with Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park on April 18.

Three new drivers come to IndyCar from three top level motorsports. Seven-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson has joined Chip Ganassi Racing for road and street course events on a two year deal, joining defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon, Alex Palou, Marcus Ericsson and Tony Kanaan who will compete in oval races including the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500.

Scott McLaughlin will make his full-time NTT IndyCar Series debut with Team Penske having made his race debut in the 2020 season ending Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg having moved to U.S over the off-season from the Australian Supercars championship.

Former Formula One driver, Romain Grosjean joins the IndyCar cars for road and street course events for Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing.

Fan favourite, James Hinchcliffe returns to full-time IndyCar competition with Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport.

Ed Jones also returns to IndyCar following a year away as he rejoins Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan Racing to drive the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda.

Sebastien Bourdais also returns to full-time NTT IndyCar Series competition in 2021, joining Dalton Kellett who moved up to a full-time drive having made his IndyCar debut last season.

Marco Andretti has elected to step back from his IndyCar commitments to focus on other racing endeavours but he will race in the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 30.

Arrow McLaren SP who has a phenomenal first season in IndyCar in 2020 have brought in Felix Rosenqvist to partner Pato O’Ward for 2021 while following a multi-year absence from the sport, Juan Pablo Montoya returns to IndyCar driving a third McLaren SP Chevrolet in the Indianapolis 500.

Meyer Shank Racing had a busy off season as they have expanded to a two car team with three time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves joining full-time driver Jack Harvey for several races this season in the No.06 Honda.

The NTT IndyCar Series will head to a new venue in August as Nashville Tennessee will play host to the inaugural Music City Grand Prix.

The NTT IndyCar Series announced on Thursday, that the IndyCar iRacing Challenge will return for a second season with three races scheduled starting on March 18.

Share This