The Verizon IndyCar Series silly season has begun with reports from the US suggesting 6that Team Penske have approached Schmidt Peterson Motorsports about signing highly rated rookie Robert Wickens for the 2019 season.

Paddock Eye understands that Team Penske will not revert to a four car full-time Verizon IndyCar Series programme in 2019 as Josef Newgarden, Will Power and Simon Pagenaud have long term contracts with ‘The Captain’. Penske have also confirmed that the team will run Helio Castroneves for the 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil next season.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports have a had a great season to day with Robert Wickens in 6th and James Hinchcliffe in 11th in the points standing with the pair having scored three podiums in total so far this season.

In 2015, following three years with SPM, Simon Pagenaud moved to Team Penske and in 2016 he won the Verizon IndyCar Series championship.

Share This