The Verizon IndyCar Series heads to California this weekend for the 2016 season finale, after seven months of on track action it all comes down to the 85 lap GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma.

Just like last season, the season finale is worth double points, this year Roger Penske is guaranteed the title with two of his drivers, Simon Pagenaud and Will Power the only two drivers despite the double points mathematically still in with a chance of be crowned series champion.

Roger Penske who is celebrating 50 years in motorsport has seen his drivers win nine of the 15 races this season, with other winners being Scott Dixon for Chip Ganassi Racing (Phoenix and Watkins Glen), Alexander Rossi for Bryan Herta Autosport (the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil), Josef Newgarden for Ed Carpenter Racing (Iowa Corn 300), Sebastien Bourdais for KVSH Racing (Detroit Race One), and Graham Rahal for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway).

There has been a lot of talk off track about who goes where next season with a number of driver contracts that are up at the end of the season however this weekend all the talk will stop as the race takes place on Sunday.

The big question is can Chevrolet cap off the season by taking their 14th win of the season or will Honda be able to come to the front with one of their teams to win the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma.

We may not know who is going to win the championship this season, but Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi is more than likely going to be crowned the 2016 Sunoco Rookie of the year as he leads Conor Daly by 75 points.

Share This