The race for the 2021 NTT IndyCar Series championship was blown wide on Saturday night at the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 at World Wide Technology Raceway after defending series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda and then championship leader Alex Palou in the No.10 American Legion Honda retired from the race.

Alex Palou is now in second place, ten points behind championship leader Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet who scored valuable points with a second place finish.

Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Sonsio Team Penske Chevrolet had a great race as he took his second victory of the season and in doing so jumped Scott Dixon into third in championship, 22 points behind O’Ward.

There are three races remaining with a maximum of 150 points available while mathematically there are seven drivers still in with a chance to win the championship.

It is likely that the 16th season in a row that the championship will be decided at the final race of the year, which this season will be the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach on Sunday 26th September.

Pato O’Ward has had a great season

Scott Dixon suffered his first retirement since 2019 on Saturday night

Simon Pagenaud has yet to win a race this season

Marcus Ericsson has won two races to date this season including the inaugural Big Machine Music City Grand Prix on the streets of Nashville

Colton Herta retired from the race due to broken drove shaft

Alex Palou has been the stand out performers in 21

Share This