The NTT IndyCar Series gets back to racing for the first time in seven and half months today (Saturday) at Texas Motor Speedway as the 2020 gets underway with Genesys 300. The 200 lap race will feature 24 drivers with three rookies.

Three rookies will make their NTT IndyCar Series race debut with Oliver Askew at Arrow McLaren SP. Dale Coyne with Team Goh’s Alex Palou and Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay all set to race in the IndyCar Series for the first time.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Tony Kanaan will make his 318th consecutive NTT IndyCar Series start as he prepares for TK Last Lap. Speaking ahead of the race today the Brazilian said:

Also, a great surprise was with the unfortunate situation, I’m going to get to extend my consecutive starts by one more. “Hopefully, I’m going to get to start the race first. We can’t say that before I get there. It’s a pretty cool thing. It was one other thing I was actually ready to retire once they took the green flag in St. Pete.

Saturday’s action will be broadcast live in the UK and Ireland with practice live at 6.30PM, qualifying will be live at 10PM while the race is live at 1AM on Sunday morning on Sky Sports F1HD.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda heads into the season looking to win his sixth NTT IndyCar Series championship and with Ganassi adding a third car to his team it is very possible that the added technical support a third car delivers Dixon it see him win a sixth championship.

James Hinchcliffe will make his race return with Andretti Autosport in the No.29 Genesys Honda and speaking to Paddock Eye earlier this week ahead of the race the Mayor of HinchTown said he is exploring options for further NTT IndyCar Series races this season.

Share This