The 107th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge takes place in 13 days and with that in mind as we prepare for the opening day on practice on Tuesday, here’s a closer look at some of the stats around ‘The Greatest Spectacle In Racing’.

In 2023, there are 34 drivers vying for 33 spots on the grid for the biggest single day sporting event in the world.

There are nine previous winners in the field. Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Takuma Sato, Ryan Hunter Reay, Will Power, Alexander Rossi, Tony Kanaan, Marcus Ericsson and Simon Pagenaud.

Helio Castroneves will look to make a piece of Indy 500 history on Sunday, May, 28 as he aims to become the first driver in INDYCAR SERIES history to win the Indianapolis 500 five times.

There are four rookies in the field, with Agustin Canapino, Benjamin Pedersen, RC Enerson and Sting Ray Robb.

Katherine Legge is the only female driver in the field this season and is the first female to compete in the race since Simona De Silvestro in 2021.

U.S. drivers (13): Marco Andretti, Ed Carpenter, Conor Daly, RC Enerson, Santino Ferrucci, Colton Herta, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Kyle Kirkwood, David Malukas, Josef Newgarden, Graham Rahal, Sting Ray Robb, Alexander Rossi

International drivers (21, from 14 countries): Agustín Canapino, Helio Castroneves, Devlin DeFrancesco, Scott Dixon, Marcus Ericsson, Romain Grosjean, Jack Harvey, Callum Ilott, Tony Kanaan, Katherine Legge, Christian Lundgaard, Scott McLaughlin, Pato O’Ward, Simon Pagenaud, Alex Palou, Benjamin Pedersen, Will Power, Felix Rosenqvist, Takuma Sato, Rinus VeeKay, Stefan Wilson

Engines (34): Honda 17, Chevrolet 17 (all cars use Dallara chassis and Firestone tires)

Share This