Seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion and Legacy Motor Club co-owner Jimmie Johnson has been inducted into the Motorsports Hall Of Fame Class Of 2024 in the stock car category it was announced in Long Beach on Friday.

The Class of 2024 includes the all-time winningest NHRA Top Fuel Funny Car crew chief Austin Coil (Drag Racing), six-time INDYCAR SERIES champion Scott Dixon (Open Wheel), HANS Device inventors Jim Downing & Dr. Robert Hubbard (Technology), desert racing legend and Hollywood stuntman Bud Ekins (Motorcycles), seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson (Stock Cars), four-time SCCA national champion and eight-time IndyCar title-winning owner Paul Newman (At Large) and 1966 Can-Am champion and championship-winning constructor John Surtees (Sports Cars). Two additional Historic Category inductees will be announced this summer.

Speaking about the news, Jimmie Johnson commented saying:

“It’s an incredible honor to be inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America. “I’ve been so fortunate throughout my racing career to be honored in many ways, and to be recognized in this capacity is really humbling. I took part in the induction ceremonies of Tony Stewart in 2019 and my childhood mentor Ricky Johnson in 2012, so to be added to this elite group of individuals – by the equally impressive voting panel – is really special. I’m so thankful.”

Share This