Dale Coyne Racing’s Ed Jones who drives the No.19 Boy Scouts of America Honda has been crowned the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award.

Jones has had a fantastic opening season in the series and secured a podium finish in the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil where he finished the race event in third place behind winner Takuma Sato and second placed Helio Castroneves.

Jones says that having Sebastien Bourdais as his team mate at Dale Coyne Racing this season has been really helpful and a great benchmark.

Jones won the Sunoco Rookie of the year award with 332 points with his Dale Coyne Racing team mate Esteban Gutierrez finished in second place on 91 points while Formula One driver, Fernando Alonso who received the Indianapolis 500 rookie of the year award rounded out the podium in third place.


Share This