The 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series season gets underway with the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg in just under six weeks time.

There have been substantial changes up and down the pit-lane over the off-season with driver and engine movements creating what promises to be one of the most exciting seasons of the Verizon IndyCar Series in recent memory.

Let’s have a look at what changes have occurred since the chequered flag dropped on the 2016 season at the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma. The biggest move of the winter happened when Ed Carpenter Racing lost their star driver Josef Newgarden to Team Penske, the American comes in to replace Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.2 Chevrolet.

Ed Carpenter Racing wasted little time in confirming that JR Hildebrand would replace Newgarden in the No.21 Chevrolet with Spencer Pigot joining Ed Carpenter in the No.20.

A number of team’s have gone with continuity for 2017 with James Hinchcliffe and Mikhail Aleshin remaining with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports while at Chip Ganassi Racing Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Charlie Kimball and Max Chilton, that’s where things are the same, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing have Graham Rahal.

Team Penske have Simon Pagenaud, Will Power, Helio Castroneves and Josef Newgarden. Andretti Autosport have Ryan Hunter Reay, Alexander Rossi, Takuma Sato and Marco Andretti, over at Dale Coyne Racing they have Sebastien Bourdais and Ed Jones while at AJ Foyt Racing they have brought in Conor Daly and Carlos Munoz and have a new engine supplier in Chevrolet.

Chip Ganassi Racing also have a new engine partner with Honda and the initial testing has been a success.

Oriol Servia will join Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing while Pippa Mann is working on securing a drive with Dale Coyne Racing.

One team that will not be on the grid at the this moment in time in KV Racing with no sign of any driver announcements it is unclear what will happen with the outfit.



Share This