Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan in the No.48 American Legion Honda was the class of the field on the third day of practice for next weekend’s 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge. The Brazilian set a fastest speed of 225.341MPH with Ed Carpenter Racing’s Conor Daly in second in the No.47 U.S Air Force Chevrolet with a speed of225.245MPH.

Santino Ferrucci was third fastest in the No.45 Hy-Vee Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing despite crashing heavily during the session and went to the hospital for precautionary checks, he had a speed of 224.922MPH.

Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden was fourth fastest with a speed of 224.885MPH while defending series champion and current points leader Scott ‘The Iceman’ Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda was fifth fastest with a speed of 224.666MPH ending the day just ahead of Rinus Veekay in the No.21 BitCoin Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing who had a speed of 224.409MPH.

It was a great day for Meyer Shank Racing’s Helio Castroneves who ended the day in seventh place with a 224.393MPH and speaking following the action he said:

oday was another great day for the team. We really focused on getting the car dialed in. We got some qualifying runs in today and then worked on the car in a draft a bit as well. I think we have a strong car. Tomorrow will be where we see where everyone stands, but for now we’ll take in today and then go for it again tomorrow.

Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing Honda was eighth fastest with a speed of 224.273MPH ending the session just ahead of Takuma Sato in the No.30 Panasonic PeopleReady Honda, the defending Indy 500 champion set a speed of 224.232MPH ending the day just ahead of Colton Herta in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda who set a speed of  223.944MPH Alex Palou in the No.10 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda was 11th who set a speed of 223.679MPH.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda was 12th with a speed of 223.548MPH just ahead of Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 Pennzoil Chevrolet with a speed of 223.491MPH ending the day just ahead of Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet who set a speed of 223.333MPH.

Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet set the 15th fastest speed of 223.230MPH ending the day just ahead of Felix Rosenqvist in the No.7 Vuse Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet with a speed of 223.199MPH.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda was 17th with 223.116MPH just ahead of Marco Andretti in the No.98 Gleaners Food Bank of Indiana Honda for Andretti Autosport who set a speed of 222.623MPH. Speaking following the action Harvey said:

I thought that the first qualifying run that we did looked decent and then it was a little bit better on the second one that we did, which was an encouraging sign. I think the No. 60 AutoNation / SiriusXM Honda is looking pretty fast on its own. We have some work to do on our race car now and we’ll wait and see what we can do tomorrow.

Ed Jones in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda for Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan Racing was 19th with a speed of 222.604MPH. Ed Carpenter in the No.20 Sonax Chevrolet rounded out the top 20 with 222.441MPH.

Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda for Andretti Autosport was 21st with a speed of 222.412MPH.

Arrow McLaren SP’s Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.86 Mission Foods Chevrolet was 22nd with a speed of 222.384MPH just ahead of Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet with a speed of 222.364MPH just ahead of Dalton Kellett in the No.4 K-Line Insulators Chevrolet with a speed of 221.926MPH.

Stefan Wilson was 25th with a speed of 221.804MPH just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda who set a speed of 221.748MPH.

Pietro Fittipaldi ended the day in 27th with a speed of 221.602MPH while Sage Karam was 28th with a speed of 221.411MPH just ahead of Charlie Kimball who set a 221.251MPH while JR Hildebrand in the No.1 ABC Supply Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing was 30th with 221.173MPH just ahead of Paretta Autosport’s Simona De Silvestro in the No.16 Rocket TPO Money Lion Chevrolet who set a speed of 220.911MPH.

James Hinchcliffe in the No.29 Genesys Honda was 32nd place with a speed of 220.822MPH just ahead of Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet who set a speed of 220.489MPH.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.4 ROKiT Chevrolet was 34th with a speed of 219.876MPH while Top Gun Racing’s RC Enerson rounded out the order in 35th place with a speed of 217.444MPH.

Next up is Fast Friday where the engines will be turned up to enable teams to prepare for qualifying this weekend.


Share This