NTT IndyCar Series veteran Tony Kanaan’s arrival at Arrow McLaren SP is a major coupe for the team.

It was announced on Tuesday that Kanaan, will make his 22nd Indianapolis 500 start next May when he joins Arrow McLaren SP for the Greatest Spectacle In Racing.

The Brazilian who has been with Chip Ganassi Racing since 2014 joins Pato O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist and 2016 Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi at the team next season.

Arrow McLaren SP will have two of the most recent Indianapolis 500 podium finishers in their line up for the Indy 500 with Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP who finished second behind winner Marcus Ericsson while Tony Kanaan finished third last season.

Felix Rosenqvist who moves from the No.7 to the No.6 Chevrolet finished fourth in 2022.

It will be first time that Arrow McLaren SP will field four cars in the Greatest Spectacle In Racing with the team under the leadership of their new Racing Director Gavin Ward who recently joined the team from Penske.

Arrow McLaren SP head into the 107th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge with arguably one of the strongest line-ups with two Indianapolis 500 winners in Tony Kanaan and Alexander Rossi alongside Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist.

It remains to be seen if Kanaan will also compete in the GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course given, a). He has not driven a Chevrolet-powered IndyCar for a number of years and b) the lack of in-season test days available to teams.

Share This