The launches have been held, all the talking is over, the new cars are ready, we have brand new regulations, we have had driver changes and now the time has come for the Formula One 2017 to begin.

The first of two winter test session gets underway on Monday morning at the Barcelona Circuit Du Catalunya.

The new cars are faster and wider compared to last year’s while Pirelli have introduced wider tyres to accommodate the bigger cars.

We have some driver changes too with only Ferrari, Red Bull and Toro Ross fielding an unchanged line-up.

Following world champion Nico Rosberg’s retirement from Formula One at the end of last season, the Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team have brought in Valtteri Bottas from Williams Martini Racing to replace the German as Lewis Hamilton’s team mate.

At McLaren Honda, following the retirement of Jenson Button, Stoffel Vandoorne joins Fernando Alonso.

Following the closure of the Manor Racing team, Pascal Wehrlein has joined Marcus Ericsson at the Sauber F1 Team who are celebrating 25 years in Formula One this season. The Williams Martini Racing team who celebrate 40 years in Formula One have persuaded Felipe Massa to come out of retirement to replace Valtteri Bottas with rookie Lance Stroll making his debut with the team this season.

Force India have a new pairing with Esteban Ocon joining Sergio Perez at the Silverstone based outfit.

Nico Hulkenberg has joined Jolyon Palmer at the Renault Sport F1 Team who have brought in former world champion and team owner Alain Prost as a special adviser. Kevin Magnussen, the man Hulkenberg replaced at Enstone has joined Romain Grosjean at the Haas F1 Team.


Share This