Peugeot’s Sebastien Loeb took victory by 18 second in the penultimate stage of the 2017 Dakar Rally. The Frenchman beat his team mate and rally leader Stephane Peterhansel by 00:00:18s.

Orlando Terranova was third for Mini ending the day in third place just ahead of Toyota’s Giniel De Villiers was fourth, ending the day in fourth place.

X-Raid Mimi Cooper driver Yazeed Al Rajhi rounded out the top five. Stephane Peterhansel goes into Saturday’s final stage of the event leading Sebastien Loeb by 00:05:32 and speaking following his stage win, Loeb commented by saying:

We won the stage but we wanted more. “We gave everything we had and gained some time back during the first part. But we had a puncture at the beginning of the second one…It’s been a great battle, it was good to fight within seconds. We couldn’t have done more.

Share This