Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Christian Lundgaard is an NTT INDYCAR SERIES race winner. The Dane who started the Honda Indy Toronto from pole position, guided his No.45 VIVID Honda through the streets of Toronto to claim his first career win coming home over ten seconds ahead of a wounded Alex Palou who extended his lead in the championship to 128 points over his nearest challenger. Palou finished second despite a heavily damaged front wing and it shows that even when he has a bad race he is coming out on top having come from 15th on the grid to finish second.

Colton Herta came home in third place to give Honda Performance Development a podium sweep while Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda recovered from a poor strategy call from his Chip Ganassi Racing team to finish the race in fourth place just ahead of Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Snap-On Team Penske Chevrolet.

Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 Gallagher Team Penske Chevrolet came home in sixth following his own strategy wows. It was a great race for Marcus Armstrong who finished the race in seventh place maintaining his lead in the Rookie Of The Year standings.

Pato O’Ward finished the race in eighth place just ahead of Graham Rahal who drove a great recovery race to come from the back of the field to finish the event in ninth place while Felix Rosenqvist rounded out the top ten.

Marcus Ericsson came home in 11th place after being forced to pit late in the race to top off on fuel and finished the event just ahead of Agustin Canapino who did a great job for Juncos Hollinger Racing coming home in 12th place while Rinus VeeKay also had to top off for fuel coming in 13th place as did defending NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion WIll Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet.

Kyle Kirkwood was penalized for avoidable contact and had to serve his penalty twice as his crew worked on his car during the initial stop. Alexander Rossi was classified a lap down in 16th place while Santino Ferrucci was 17th just ahead of Callum Ilott and Sting Ray Robb.

David Malukas ended the race in 20th place just ahead of Romain Grosjean who retired from the race after hitting the wall after losing grip on his steering wheel a result which is sure to call into question his future in the No.28 DHL Honda.

Devlin DeFrancesco was classified in 23rd in his home race while Jack Harvey for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Tom Blomqvist in his first IndyCar race was caught up in the opening lap event as was Benjamin Pedersen of AJ Foyt Racing and Ryan Hunter-Reay. Next up for the NTT INDYCAR SERIES is the doubleheader oval weekend in Iowa next week.

Share This