McLaren Racing have confirmed the departure of their Sporting Director Gil de Ferran following the successful integration of the Schmidt Peterson Motosports IndyCar team into McLaren Racing forming the Arrow McLaren SP NTT IndyCar Series team that competed in IndyCar in 2020 with Pato O’Ward and Oliver Askew with great success leading Pato O’Ward to fourth in the series championship.

In a statement to Paddock Eye on Thursday, a McLaren spokesman confirmed the reports from earlier this week saying:

The news comes after the IndyCar Series team announced last week that Managing Director Taylor Kiel has been promoted to the role of President of Arrow McLaren SP with overall responsibility of the commercial and racing operations of the team reporting to team co owner Sam Schmidt and Zak Brown.
Arrow McLaren SP have brought in Felix Rosenqvist from Chip Ganassi Racing to partner Pato O’Ward in 2021 while former McLaren F1 driver and two time Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya will join the team for the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 30.
Paddock Eye understands that Gil de Ferran will return to his role with Extreme E, the all electric SUV racing series which makes it debut on April 3-4 in Saudi Arabia.
Share This