The news last week that McLaren Racing have partnered with Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports from the 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season came as no surprise following McLaren’s disastrous Indy 500 attempt in May.

Speaking following their failed Indianapolis 500 attempt, McLaren Racing CEO Zak Brown said that if the team were going into the NTT IndyCar Series full time they would do it by forming a partnership with an existing team.

Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports are race winners and with James Hinchcliffe set to stay on with the team in 2020 when they move to Chevrolet power they will be ready for the new season.

The team which will be known as Arrow McLaren Racing SP has an experienced team with Taylor Kiel and Sam Schmidt at the helm.

Gil De Ferran will head up the Arrow McLaren Racing SP team with the help of Schmidt and co owner Ric Peterson and they will be in a position to hit the ground running when the 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season gets underway at the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg in March.

Share This