Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin took his maiden NTT NTT IndyCar Series victory albeit in the virtual world as he claimed victory in the IndyCar Series iRacing Challenge at Barber Motorsports Park for the AmFirst Homda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

The New Zealander took victory from his home in Brisbane and used a two stop strategy to great affect and he said he was nervous at the safety car restart and credited Jonathan Doogood his Team Penske IndyCar engineer to take the win.

McLaughlin said he has ten years of iRacing experience and it was great for the New Zealander in the No.2 Shell V Power Chevrolet.

Will Power was second in the No.12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet ending the race just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Scott Speed in the No.98 US Concrete Honda ended the race just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing with Team Goh’s Alex Palou. Defending Indianapolis 500 winner Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet was fifth for Team Penske just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist in the the No.10 NTT DATA Honda.

Colton Herta came home in seventh in the No.88 Capstone Honda for Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Racing just ahead of Robert Wickens in the No.6 Lucas Oil Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet who on his return to racing came from the back of the grid to finish in eighth place just ahead of Defending Series champion Josef Newgarden in the No.1 PPG Chevrolet for Team. Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing’s Santino Ferrucci in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda rounded out the top ten.

The 45 lap race had drama from the word go and it got even more exciting following the competition caution on lap 15 which lasted for three laps.last week’s winner Sage Karam in the No.24 Wix Filters Chevrolet for Dreyer and Reinbold Racing’s looked on course for a second victory however it was not meant to be as he retired from the race on lap 29.

It was a great race for rookie Dalton Kellett in the No.41 K Line Insulators Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing as he ended the event in eleventh place just ahead of Jimmie Johnson in the No.48 Jimmie Johnson Racing Chevrolet ending the race just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.4 Tresiba Chevrolet. Graham Rahal in the No.15 One Cure Honda was 14th for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing just ahead of Arrow McLaren SP’s Oliver Askew in the No.7 Arrow McLaren SP.

Five time series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing had a really strong iRacing debut however a spin put the Iceman in 16th just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s James Hinchcliffe in the No.29 Genesys Honda.

On his return to road racing for the first time since 2013, Ed Carpenter finished the race in 18th just ahead of Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda who ended the race just ahead of his team mate Kyle Kirkwood in the No.28 DHL Honda.

Kyle Kaiser in the No.11 Juncos Racing Chevrolet was 21st just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda while Conor Daly was 23rd for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Patricio O’Ward took 24th in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet just ahead of Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing and Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing. Dreyer and Reinbold Racing’s Sage Karam in the No.24 Wix Filters Chevrolet was 27th just ahead of Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda was 28th while Felipe Nasr rounded out the order in 29th in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet for Carlin Racing.

Share This