Scott McLaughlin took his second NTT IndyCar Series iRacing Challenge victory at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, speaking following the race he said he was in the right place at the right time and felt it was exhilarating.

McLaughlin started the race from pole in the No.40 Pirtek Team Penske Chevrolet and came home just ahead of Carlin Racing’s Conor Daly in the No.31 US Air Force Chevrolet. Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing’s Santino Ferrucci in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda came home third following a last lap shunt with Arrow McLaren SP’s Oliver Askew in the No.7 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet.

Askew finished the race in fourth just ahead of Patricio O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet. Sebastien Bourdais in the No.4 ripKurrent Chevrolet came home sixth for AJ Foyt Foyt Racing.

Andretti Autosport had a great event with Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda ending the race in seventh just ahead of his team mate Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda. Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing came home in ninth while five time series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda rounded out the top ten.

Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing had a great race and looked set to challenge for the win but got caught up in an accident that meant he finished 11th just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda while Graham Rahal was also caught up in an incident having led for a number of laps in the No.15 United Rentals Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet ran up front with Rahal and James Davison but had to settle for 14th place just ahead of Scott Speed in the No.39 Oberto Honda for Andretti Autosport. Helio Castroneves in the No.911 Pennzoil Team Penske Chevrolet made his way from last on the grid to finish midfield in 16th place just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda while Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda came home in 18th place respectively.

James Davison in the No.33 Byrd Honda came home in 19th place just ahead of Top Gun Racing’s RC Enerson who finished the team’s first iRacing event in 20th place in the No.99 Hegarty Dallara. Arrow McLaren SP’s Lando Norris in the No.04 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet led the race and had a great battle with his team mates Oliver Askew and Patricio O’Ward but was forced to retire follow a big crash.

Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Josef Newgarden in the No.1 Shell V Power Team Penske Chevrolet came home in 22nd.

Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet for Carlin Racing ended the event in 23rd place just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus Veekay in the No.21 Sonax Chevrolet. Defending Indianapolis 500 winner Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet came home in 25th place having been caught up in a big accident having led the race.

Alex Palou in the No.55 Dale Coyne with Team Goh Honda ended the race in 26th place just ahead of Dreyer and Reinbold Racing’s Sage Karam in the No.24 Wix Filters Chevrolet.

Ed Carpenter was 28th in the No.20 Riley Children’s Foundation Chevrolet was classified 28th, 12 laps down while Stefan Wilson was 29th for Juncos Racing just ahead of Takuma Sato in the No.30 MiJack/Panasonic Honda.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Dalton Kellett and Tony Kanaan and  Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Racing’s Colton Herta in the No.88 Capstone Honda were at the back.

The NTT IndyCar Series is due to start their 2020 season for real behind closed doors with the Genesys 600 at Texas Motor Speedway on June 6.

Share This