Roger Penske and last year’s Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg winner Juan Pablo Montoya were at a ceremony at the circuit this morning to unveil their individual plaques as the 2015 race winning driver and race winning team owner.

The pair had their plaques added to the Dan Wheldon Memorial Victory Circle monument. Speaking as they were added to the monument , Roger ‘The Captain’ Penske stated:

It’s an honor to see all of these plaques representing wins by so many of our drivers, It’s a great team effort. … Certainly this is a place where we have had a lot of success and we’re hoping we can continue this weekend.

Montoya joins his Penske team mate’s Helio Castroneves (who won in 2006, 2007 and 2012) and Will Power (who won in 2010 and 2014) on the wall. The Colombian will be hoping to add a second win here in tomorrow’s season opener.

Speaking at the ceremony, Montoya stated:

You don’t realize little things like (the wall of champions) go a long way for the future and it’s cool, Now we’ve got to go back and focus on what we do. This year you want to keep it up and do the best you can. It doesn’t mean you’re going to go out there and win every race, but you still want to. We’re going to try.

Montoya, driving the No.2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet goes into this afternoon’s qualifying session in good shape having ending this morning’s practice session in third place.

Share This