Verizon IndyCar Series driver and 2015 Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya has become the champion of champions at the 2017 Race of Champions in Miami, Florida as a rookie.

The Colombian beat LeMans 24 Hours legend Tom Kristensen to the title. Montoya was in Group B and took victory at his home event.

The Race of Champions took place at the Marlins Baseball field in Miami. Montoya, who will continue in the Verizon IndyCar Series with a run in a fifth Team Penske Chevrolet in the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil alongside Helio Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud, Will Power and Josef Newgarden.

Montoya takes over the Champion of champions title from four time Formula One champion Sebastian Vettel.

Share This