Andretti Autosport announced on Monday that their former driver, Carlos Munoz will return to the team for the 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil in May next year.

Munoz, who made his debut in the Verizon IndyCar Series at the 2013 Indianapolis 500 for Andretti Autosport will be reunited with his former team mate’s Ryan Hunter Reay, Alexander Rossi and Marco Andretti and will join newcomer Zach Veach and the returning Stefan Wilson to complete a six car entry for Andretti Autosport at the most famous motor race of them all.

At the 2013 race, the Colombian finished the event in second place behind race winner

Munoz returns to Andretti following a year with AJ Foyt Racing where he drove alongside Conor Daly.

The Colombian has a great record at the Indianapolis 500 as he finished runner up to team mate Alexander Rossi in 2016 and returns to a team who have won the last two Indianapolis 500 events in a row.

Speaking about his return to Andretti Autosport, Munoz commented by saying:

I am very excited to be a part of Andretti Autosport again“The team has been like family to me since day one, when I joined them five years ago to race Indy Lights. We have been so close to winning the Indy 500 – twice with the team – so I am especially excited to be back for that race and hopefully we will have a good result this year. I need to thank Michael [Andretti] and J-F [Thormann] for believing in me and wanting me to back in their car for the Indy 500. I am also excited to be back with my teammates, and I think we will continue to work really well together. We have six cars, so hopefully we will have a strong team working with the new [areo kit]. I am really looking forward to it – hopefully we can finally get that win we’ve been so close to.

Andretti Autosport team owner and CEO Michael Andretti commented on the return of Munoz to his outfit by saying:

We’re thrilled to have Carlos back in an Andretti car for the Indy 500“There is no denying that Carlos has talent at [Indianapolis Motor Speedway], he’s finished runner-up twice and that has fueled his determination to get to victory lane. He has already built relationships with his teammates and many of those on our crew, so it should be a seamless process for our six cars when they head out for the first time together.

Andretti Autosport have won five Indianapolis 500 races since 2005. Dan Wheldon won in 2005, Dario Franchitti won in 2007, Ryan Hunter Reay won in 2014, Alexander Rossi won as a rookie in 2016 having moved to the Verizon IndyCar Series from Formula One, while Takuma Sato won in 2017.

Share This