The NTT IndyCar Series field heads to Sebring International Raceway for a two day private test on Monday and Tuesday 18th and 19th January as the series prepares for the first test of 2021 ahead of the start of the new season in April. We were due to get underway in St Pete on March 7th however, just like last year, COVID 19 has meant the new season has been delayed.

The opening race of the year takes place at Barber Motorsports Park and the test next week at Sebring will give the drivers the opportunity to get behind the wheel and prepare for the race.

Chip Ganassi Racing will have their full team present at the test with defending series champion Scott Dixon and Marcus Ericsson joined by their new team mate’s Alex Palou and seven time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson.

Andretti Autosport will have at least four cars in action at the test with Marco Andretti taking part despite making the shock announcement on Friday that he will step down from full time IndyCar Series competition this year.

It is unclear what Andretti Autosport will do this season as to whether or not they will just run three cars or possibly have a fourth car full-time with James Hinchcliffe tipped to return to full-time IndyCar competition in 2021 following a partial programme in 2020. Paddock Eye understands that the Mayor of HinchTown could be confirmed as an Andretti driver on Monday ahead of the start of testing.

Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden, Will Power, Simon Pagenaud and Scott McLaughlin in action over the course of the test. Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey will be in action while Carlin will have Max Chilton in the car.

Ed Carpenter Racing will have Rinus Veekay and Conor Daly in action while it is not clear as to who Dale Coyne Racing will have in their cars with Romain Grosjean potentially set to drive for the team. Arrow McLaren SP will have Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist in action.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing will have Graham Rahal and Takuma Sato in their cars over the course of the test.

AJ Foyt Racing will have Sebastien Bourdais and Dalton Kellett in action.

Share This