Josef Newgarden says that Team Penske are here to go after it at every race and says that Team Chevy gave the team everything they needed as he claimed his third Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg presented by RP Funding NTT P1 Award with a time of 59.5714s while it was also a great session for Meyer Shank Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist who starts his first race with MSR from the front row in second place with a time of 59.5772s just 6 thousandths of a second behind Newgarden.

Arrow McLaren’s Pato O’Ward starts from third place with a time of 59.6540s just ahead of Colton Herta while the star of qualifying was Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Romain Grosjean who makes his debut for the team from fifth place on the grid with a time of 01:00.0642s while Marcus Ericsson who replaced Grosjean at Andretti Global rolls off from sixth place.

Just outside the Firestone Fast Six was Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay while Will Power starts the race from eighth place for Team Penske. Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 Dex Imaging Chevrolet for Team Penske starts 9th just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Armstrong who rounded out the top ten.

Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda starts the race from 11th having suffered from understeer during his qualifying runs while Christian Lundgaard in the No.45 Hy-Vee Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing starts 12th just ahead of defending series champion Alex Palou in the No.10 DHL Chip Ganassi Racing Honda.

Santino Ferrucci starts the race in 14th following an encouraging qualifying for the No.14 Sexton Properties AJ Foyt Racing team. Alexander Rossi and Callum Ilott will start side by side for Arrow McLaren in 15th and 16th place respectively.

Tom Blomqvist starts the race from 17th for Meyer Shank Racing just ahead of Andretti Global’s Kyle Kirkwood while Linus Lundqvist will make his Chip Ganassi Racing race debut from 19th place. Agustin Canapino rounded out the top twenty just ahead of Christian Rasmussen who makes his series debut from 21st place with a 01:00.2021s. Graham Rahal had a tricky session and starts the race from 22nd place just ahead of Kyffin Simpson who makes his debut from 23rd place just ahead of Sting Ray Robb in the No.41 AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Colin Braun starts his first race from 25th place just ahead of Pietro Fittipaldi while Jack Harvey returns to INDYCAR with Dale Coyne Racing from 27th on the grid.

Share This